Anti-Anti

Playing against anti-Semitism

Jewish life in Germany – this did not only exist between 1933 and 1945. Jewish life and culture has been proven to exist on German soil for 1700 years. And thus Judaism is far older than, for example, Friedrich Nietzsche, the invention of the deposit bottle or the Cologne Cathedral – together! Jews and Germans thus lived closely together. But most of the time, the weakest in society and the outsiders have been made scapegoats for self-managed mismanagement.

This is how anti-Semitism came into the world… which is unacceptable in modern societies! He can neither be excused nor swept under the carpet. It can only be countered with education and enlightenment. And that’s why we launched our Anti-Anti program: the Jewish Week Dresden plays against anti-Semitism. To this end, we develop educational projects, go to schools, cooperate with Jewish-German artists, develop our own film series and thus impart the knowledge to protect oneself against partly simple-minded, partly devious, old and new anti-Semitism.

Anti-Anti – you hear from us!

———–

With the support of the Jewish Music Institute (JMI) London

Since the festival was founded, important Jewish artists and cultural workers from all over the world have come to the Saxon capital every year. In addition to their artistic activities, almost all of them also have many years of pedagogical experience: e.g. in the implementation of workshops, the management of master classes or the organization of concerts in schools.

With the newly developed program Games against Anti-Semitism , we want to set an example and actively show the numerous opportunities for cultural education and exchange that arise during our festival to children, young people and disadvantaged people. Our goal is to promote contact between the festival artists and those who would not normally attend concerts or theatrical performances.

Playing against anti-Semitism has four goals:

  1. promote cultural education for children,
  2. bringing young people and the disadvantaged into contact with cultural diversity,
  3. educate about anti-Semitism,
  4. to inform about the essential and sustainable role that Jewish culture plays and has played in Europe.

Like all racism, anti-Semitism is often nourished by a lack of familiarity, by fear of the other, by mistrust of the unknown. In fact, the rhetoric used in the past (and not only) against Jews is identical to that used today against other “others.” Today, many Germans have hardly any everyday contact with real Jews. Much of what they learn comes from mass and social media or from family circles. Our project is therefore aimed at breaking through these walls of unfamiliarity. We bring young people and children – but also older people – into direct contact with Jewish culture and its cultural workers.

An hour or afternoon of building and playing instruments, for example, grooving, singing and clapping during an interactive concert, learning traditional Jewish dances or taking part in a storytelling lesson, is not just fun. It is also a gentle and effective way to educate against anti-Semitism in a non-threatening environment.

Hopefully, all of this will arouse your curiosity about Jewish life, its long, historical, once everyday and everywhere in Europe presence – and at the same time shows that despite the tragedy of the Holocaust, Jewish culture remains a joyful and real unity in the present.

Anti-Anti

Spielen gegen Antisemitismus

Jüdisches Leben in Deutschland – das gab es nicht nur zwischen 1933 und 1945. Jüdisches Leben und Kultur gibt es nachweislich seit 1700 Jahren auf deutschem Boden. Und damit ist das Judentum weit älter als beispielsweise Friedrich Nietzsche, die Erfindung der Pfandflasche oder der Kölner Dom – zusammen! Juden und Deutsche lebten also eng zusammen. Doch meist wurden die Schwächsten der Gesellschaft und die Außenseiter zu Sündenböcken für selbstverwaltete Misswirtschaft gemacht.

So kam der Anti-Semitismus in die Welt… der in modernen Gesellschaften nicht hinnehmbar ist! Er lässt sich weder entschuldigen noch unter den Teppich kehren. Ihm lässt sich nur mit Bildung und Aufklärung begegnen. Und deshalb haben wir unser Programm Anti-Anti ins Leben gerufen: die Jüdische Woche Dresden spielt gegen Anti-Semitismus. Dazu entwickeln wir pädagogische Projekte, gehen an Schulen, kooperieren mit jüdischdeutschen Künstler:innen, entwickeln eine eigene Filmreihe und vermitteln so das Wissen um sich gegen teils einfältigen, teils hinterhältigen, alten und neuen Anti-Semitismus zu schützen.

Anti-Anti – Ihr hört von uns!

———–

Mit Unterstützung des Jewish Music Institute (JMI) London

Seit Gründung des Festivals kommen jedes Jahr bedeutende jüdische Kunst- und Kulturschaffende aus aller Welt in die sächsische Landeshauptstadt. Fast alle haben neben ihrer künstlerischen Tätigkeit auch jahrelange pädagogische Erfahrung: z.B. bei der Durchführung von Workshops, der Leitung von Meisterkursen oder der Veranstaltung von Konzerten in Schulen.

Mit dem neu entwickelten Programm Spielen gegen Antisemitismus wollen wir ein Zeichen setzen und die zahlreiche Möglichkeiten der kulturellen Bildung und des Austauschs, die sich während unseres Festivals ergeben, auch Kindern, Jugendlichen und benachteiligten Menschen aktiv aufzuzeigen. Unser Ziel ist es, den Kontakt zwischen den Festival-Künstler:innen und denjenigen zu fördern, die normalerweise keine Konzerte oder Theateraufführungen besuchen würden.

Spielen gegen Antisemitismus hat vier Ziele:

  1. kulturelle Bildung für Kinder fördern,
  2. Jugendliche und Benachteiligte mit kultureller Vielfalt in Kontakt bringen,
  3. über Antisemitismus aufklären,
  4. über die wesentliche und nachhaltige Rolle, die die jüdische Kultur in Europa spielt und gespielt hat, zu informieren.

Wie jeder Rassismus nährt sich der Antisemitismus oft aus mangelnder Vertrautheit, aus der Angst vor dem Anderen, aus dem Misstrauen gegenüber dem Unbekannten. Tatsächlich ist die Rhetorik, die in der Vergangenheit (und nicht nur) gegen Juden verwendet wurde, identisch mit der, die heute gegen andere »Andere« verwendet wird. Heute haben viele Deutsche kaum noch alltäglichen Kontakt mit echten Juden. Vieles von dem, was sie lernen, kommt aus den Massen- und sozialen Medien oder aus dem Familienkreis. Unser Projekt ist daher darauf ausgerichtet, diese Mauern der Unvertrautheit zu durchbrechen. Wir bringen junge Menschen und Kinder – aber auch Älteren – in den direkten Kontakt mit jüdischer Kultur und ihren Kulturschaffenden.

Eine Stunde oder ein Nachmittag, in der man beispielsweise Instrumente baut und spielt, während eines interaktiven Konzerts groovt, singt und klatscht, traditionelle jüdische Tänze lernt oder an einer Erzählstunde teilnimmt, machen nicht nur Spaß. Es ist auch eine sanfte und effektive Art, in einer nicht bedrohlichen Umgebung gegen Antisemitismus zu erziehen.

Hoffentlich weckt dies alles Ihre Neugierde auf das jüdische Leben, auf seine lange, historische, einst alltägliche und überall in Europa vorhandene Präsenz – und zeigt gleichzeitig, dass die jüdische Kultur trotz der Tragödie des Holocausts eine freudige und wirkliche Einheit in der Gegenwart bleibt.